## DES MOINES CHRISTIAN SCHOOL Board of Directors Meeting February 18, 2019

## **OPEN SESSION MINUTES**

MEETING LOCATION: Des Moines Christian School; 13007 Douglas Parkway; Urbandale, IA, 50323

CALL TO ORDER: Vice President Casey Miller called the meeting to order at 7:35 pm.

**BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:** Vice President Casey Miller, Treasurer Jim Plagge, Secretary Sarah Spilman, Directors Shaun Bennett, Cynthia Christy, Todd Goeldner, Patti Johnson, Tim Lundberg, Darin Roggenburg, Heidi Vermeer-Quist

MEMBERS ABSENT: President John Leusink, Director Steve Durick

ADMINISTRATORS PRESENT: Superintendent Cade Lambert, Administrative Board Secretary Rebecca Fox, Director of Business Anne Soppe

VISITORS PRESENT: None

**OPENING PRAYER:** Jim Plagge led the board in devotion and prayer.

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES:** Heidi Vermeer-Quist made a motion to approve the minutes from the January board meeting. Second from Patti Johnson. Motion carried.

**BOARD ACTIONS:** The Finance Committee made a recommendation to approve the proposed 2019-2020 budget with the directive to increase the budgeted enrollment from 1054 to 1085 students and that revenue from these 31 additional students be utilized to fund the expected increased expenses associated with these students and other program enhancements. Second by Shaun Bennett. Motion carried.

**DEPARTMENT UPDATE:** Anne Soppe, Director of Business, provided the board with an update of the business activities of the schools in the domains of safety and security, snow removal, transportation, facility rental, food service, computer servers, and student/donor database.

**RECOGNITION OF EXCELLENCE:** The Board would like to formally recognize the following individuals for their leadership in chaperoning the high school mission trips to the Dominican Republic and Honduras:

- Tony Pithan
- Ryan Bakke
- Kristi Blomberg
- Matt Kinley
- Shawn Kolb
- Jeff Wilson
- Jahna & Bret Duda

- Cindy Wubben
- Brian Bailey
- Cathy Carter
- Jeff Dirkx
- Steve Durick
- Mark Fish
- Melanie Hall

- Lucy Kimani
- John Leusink
- Ashley Oakes
- Laura Olsen
- Mike ReederJen Webster
- ADJOURNMENT: The Board adjourned to closed session at 8:25 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Spilman, Board Secretary Des Moines Christian School